readin in allan brothers cafe

I am in chapter two of book four of The Brothers Karamazov. Alyosha is alone with his father who is telling him his philosophy. As I sit here reading this, I keep in mind myown thoughts, my own philosophy. Oh my how my philosophy has changed has changed so very much over the years. And I am (hopefully) on the edge of really getting into the nitty gritty of my life and its philosophy. Will I make more bold and wide changes in my outlook? What will it be like when I am sixty-five? As I sit here thinking that life is a reaction of the cosmos, intelligence a result of life, and teh human consciousness a result of it all… I think about the virtue question from the athiest in the book and Ivan’s statement and my own lacking rebuttal to it. And I stare around me, a room filled with people drinking coffee and reading and I marvel at each individual consciousness… each individual world within the world around me. It is awe inspiring to think about, the resulting conscious, self-reflecting nature of each individual human being around me. Descartes’ “cogito ergo sum”. Also, there is this feeling of empathy within me. I want good for others as I want it for myself.

Leave a Reply

