It is a beautiful day! The leaves on the tree near my balcony (which my desk sits next to the patio door) are golden yellow, filling my vision with brightness. The sky a blue grey. I have an urge to wrap a coarse wool blanket around me, drink coffee, and read fantasy literature.

No time for that. I am doing another one day stint with the TSA, helping with orientation of new hires. I’ll probably help file or do computer data entry or something. $9, 6:30 in the morning in the Gateway area DoubleTree hotel, a nice forty minute bike ride because I’ll be going slow, enjoying the morning silence, probably drinking coffee as I go. Which reminds me, I want two types of bike. One I already have. It is a road bike which I use to race cars up and down 13th on. But another that I want is a cruiser with baskets on the bak, a big wide seat and an upright design… so that I can calmly and casually ride my bike with a cup of joe in my hand and easily stop at stop signs without having to worry about spilling coffee and such. I’ll have to keep my eyes peeled for one.

I’ve got another one day job tomorrow. I’ll be one of those guys with a clip-board giving away t-shirts for a completely filled out VISA application. I’m sure that if I thought about it I could find something that I am morally opposed to in there somewhere. But should I? On second thought… no. The use of credit is the person’s responsiblity, not mine, and it can be used for good or bad. I’m glad with my Capital One No Hassle Card, what’s in your wallet?

I need a UO sweatshirt for the job tomorrow, and I don’t feel like going out to buy a $50 sweatshirt for a job where I won’t make that much back.

It is Friday and still no call from the bar that I applied to. I wonder… what gives? Perhaps I would be better off if I knocked off some of the experience on my resume. The ol’ “over qualified” bit no doubt comes into play when I apply for work.

Leave a Reply

