Some thoughts.

I sit at my desk with my planner before me. The sun has come out, the sky is bright, and I’ve got three places I’ve want to have visited before the end of the day today. A temp agency, a restaurant that put an ad in the paper, and the university campus to aquire a new catalog as well as taking a gander at the library. I want to do some sophmoric research (meaning that one looks up journal articles and reads them and writes a report) on some topic of psychology. The music is Clandestine, a vibrant celtic music group from Houston. Texas has a very strong Celtic music scene and I’ve seen this band several times. Wonderful.

“There are people who, instead of listening to what is being said to them, are already listening to what they are going to say themselves.” -Albert Guinon

“You are centered when you are open to discover, no matter what the circumstances, and when you are willing to learn and to change based on what you learn.” -Judith S. Warner

“Change is not about understanding new things or having new ideas; it’s about seeing old things with new eyes– from different perspectives.” -Dee Hock

“The illiterate of the 21st century will not be those who cannot read and write, but those who cannot learn, unlearn, and relearn.” -Alvin Toffler

I went to a friend’s house last night to watch movies. Another friend of his was there was was invited to watch the movie as well but he declined, citing that he had to finish studying his psychology textbook. Our mutual friend said “uh oh” and looked at me. But too late… and thirty minutes later I finally shut up about psychology. I had gone over a couple studies, questions, and things that makes psychology so darn interesting. It’s one thing to teach a second level intro class about Broca’s and Wernicke’s area (and have them fall asleep on you) but it is another to show them examples of how damage to this area has very odd effects on reading, speaking, and writing, and not always in conjuction with what our beliefs about the mechanics of such are.

I have a wedding to go to this Saturday… and I’ve got to figure out the logistics of getting myself to McKenzie Bridge, Oregon. Hmmmm.

A glorious day today… indeed.

Leave a Reply

