Concerning my thoughts earlier about our crutch of being saved. I did not express it clearly enough. I was surfing the net and came across and interview with Derrida and this was said….

In an interview he gave shortly after World War II but ordered withheld from publication until after his death in 1976, Heidegger said, “Philosophy after Nietzsche could offer neither help nor hope for mankind’s future. All we can do is wait for a god to reappear. Only a god can save us now.” Do you agree?

I wouldn’t use the term “a god,” but what interests me in this statement is that Heidegger was anti-religious. He was raised Catholic, but he vehemently rejected Christianity, so the god he refers to is not the god we know. He refers to a god who not only hasn’t come yet, but perhaps doesn’t exist. He gives the name of god to the one who is hoped for, and implies that the one who’d come and save us will have the name of god. I don’t agree with this if it encourages hope for salvation, but if the statement means that we’re waiting for the arrival of an unpredictable one, and that we must be hospitable to the coming of this one, then I’ve got no objection. This is a form of what I’d describe as messianicity without messianism, and we are by nature messianic. We cannot not be, because we exist in a state of expecting something to happen. Even if we’re in a state of hopelessness, a sense of expectation is an integral part of our relationship to time. Hopelessness is possible only because we do hope that some good, loving someone could come. If that’s what Heidegger meant, then I agree with him.

That is along the same lines of what I meant. but a sidetrack of the thought I was on. While Derrida seems to say that the hope for one to come and our being nice to all potential comers is okay, I think that the first part, the “hope for salvation” part is what I was writing against in my earlier post. The hope of salvation, the hope that we can break the glass and someone else will put it back together. Add this hope to the notion that most people believe themselves to be basically good, and to the notion that a just and merciful god wouldn’t send “me” (a basically good person) to an eternal hell for eating meat on Friday or missing church or something minor (because I am basically good and god would see this certainly)… add up all three common notions and you end up with mass, social crap.

Leave a Reply

