spam spam spam spam spam

I got some spam from my sister. I don’t mind… it is generally the only sort of email that I do get from her. I got ths from her tonight, however, and I had to send out my own spam.

Date: Sunday, February 09, 2003 4:37 PM
Subject: Pepsi Can

What you do with this is up to you.

Pepsi has a new “patriotic” can coming out with pictures of the Empire State Bldg. and the Pledge of Allegiance on them. But Pepsi forgot two little words on the pledge, “Under God.” Pepsi said they did not want to offend anyone. If this is true then we do not want to offend anyone at the Pepsi corporate office. If we do not buy any Pepsi product then they will not receive any of our monies. Our money after all does have the words “Under God” on it. Please pass this word to everyone you know. Tell your Sunday School class this weekend and tell your
Pastors/Ministers, tell your family, tell your neighbors–let your voices be heard. We want the words “under God” to be read by every person who buys a can.

HOW FAST CAN YOU FORWARD THIS ONE?

Okay, so what I do with this was up to me eh? I sent out my own spam, to all the names on the lengthy list of emails, on the fw/fw/fw/fw form. Soapbox time for Ed.

ahem…

The Pledge of Allegiance was first published for Columbus Day, Sept 8, 1892 in the Boston Magazine. The original text is “I pledge allegiance to my flag and the Republic for which it stand — One nation indivisible — with liberty and justice for all.”

The U.S. Congress recognized the pledge officially in 1942, and in 1954 added the phrase “under God” to the text. In 1943 the supreme court ruled that school children could not be forced to recite the Pledge as part of their school day routine. Note… this ruling was made BEFORE the addition of the “under God” text.

It is important to note that 1) there can not be freedom of religion until there is freedom FROM religion, and 2) any nation which prides itself on Liberty and Freedom should not ever feel obligated to coerce its citizens into citizenship-like behavior. This is akin to the angry boyfriend beating up his girlfriend, telling her that she HAS to love him.

Boycott Pepsi if you so desire, it is protected under our Constitution. However, the notion of trying to get a nation-wide boycott on a product simply because they correctly take out the “under God” portion forgets the very foundations upon which our freedoms are based.

Semper Fi

Eddie Black
Oregon

So now I’ve joined the ranks of spammers. I generally will toss these into the computer trash can, sometimes I’ll send and email to a friend slightly teasing them that they fell for yet another spam. And it could very well be that this was a hoax as well (that no such Pepsi can exists at all). Not the point and I don’t care. I just wanted to voice my opinion against the rolling moral right christian conservative viewpoint going all over the place, confusing dumb Americans that to be a patriot for the country and to love this country then you MUST support the war, must care less for the environment, and must believe all the Pat Roberts says.

Yeah, right.

Leave a Reply

