Green Light

Sunday afternoon and Eliza is meeting with her brother at the pool. I had lost my tickets to the Shakespeare play today so we weren’t able to go. Having an afternoon to myself I grabbed my field guides, binoculars and journal and threw them into the Trooper and headed out to Mt Pisgah.

Mt Pisgah. It has been well over a year since the last time I made it out here. How long has it been? Two years? Too long. My first year in Eugene saw many visits to Mt Pisgah, sometimes as many as two visits a day. Driving the short road down to the park I had the same nostalgic feeling of driving down the road back home in Arkansas.

Parking the Trooper I began my walk, only to find out that a building has been constructed and a young man was sitting outside selling parking decals. I paid the $20 for a year pass and after placing it on my dashboard I began my walk. The sun was shining, the sky was a deep blue, only one puffy white cloud was visible. The trees shone with a green luminosity and at times the sunlight would actually change from golden to green. Yes, it has been too long since I’ve been here.

Having been out to the park over a hundred times in a year and spending many moments in reflection, bird chasing, sipping coffee, or just being in the moment, I quickly recognized many glimpses of forks in trees, tops of snags, old nests

Leave a Reply

