Jazz Jazz Jazz

I LOVE my Ipod.  It is only a 20 GB and I have only a small portion of my CDs on it, and over the past five months or so I’ve purchased four hundred and five songs from ITunes.  I have most everything, from Adam Sandler covering Warren Zevon’s “Werewolves in London” (pretty good) to a swing version of “How the Grinch Stole Christmas” to the usual rock and roll. 

Eliza, my girl, is a hip-hop kinda girl who will also listen to classic rock.  When she is getting ready for work she will put on some music.  Occaisionally I will play from my computer.  Today, I made a playlist of hip hop songs, Eve, Eminem, Jay Z and others, and launched into them.  I was ironing her clothes for work when she came up to me and asked if I would play some of the jazz that I had played yesterday.

***gasp***

Mind you, I don’t play modern jazz (whatever it is called), such as Kenny G and Boney James.  I can’t even listen to it in the background.  I like Bebop jazz, and I really dig the early recordings from the Verve label.  Thelonious Monk, Duke Ellington, earlier Miles Davis, Canonball Adderly… these cats were swinging!

I feigned a heart attack, to her amusement, and I changed the playlist to my jazz list.

Leave a Reply

