crepes, black coffee and jazz

I should be cramming for a food test today… but instead I just posted a poll.  Ha.  Last night I went and bought fresh organic strawberries, blackberries, and blueberries, and lots of other groceries as well as a new saute’ pan.  I’ve been needing a new one.  I told Eliza that I’d make her crepes for breakfast this morning.  She was amazed when she got up and saw me mixing a batch of crepe batter.

Take three large eggs and beat with a fork

add 1  1/2 cup of flour

Slowly add 2 1/2 cups of milk to the flour/eggs while you whip it.  Don’t add too much at a time as you’ll get lumps.  It is hard to whip out lumps from a swimming pool.

Now add 3 tablespoons of melted butter to the mix.

Grab a saute pan, I use a 9” pan and it works great, and it is better if it is non-stick.  This is why I’ve had to buy a new pan, the old one had scrapes on the bottom of it for when someone used a fork on my pan (grrrr) and this RUINS it!

Okay, so heat the pan on MED heat.  Take a laddle, a small one, and put a little bit onto the pan, just enough to coat the pan.  You should still see some of the black of the pan transparent from the thin layer of batter.  Wait a minute or two and you’ll see the edges of the batter turning brown.  Grab it with your hands, or use a plastic spatuala, and flip it over (they peel right up) and place in the center and wait another minute or so.

Add berries and whipped cream and voila!

My first crepe was a little thick, but Eliza likes them on the thick side, where I like them on the thin side.

Also, it helps if when you pour the batter onto the pan, to pick the pan up with your other hand and swirl around the batter so that it coats the bottom hurriedly, because it will soon start to cook and you’ll have uneven thickness across your crepe.

Leave a Reply

