addiction

   Meth.  I have grown to hate this drug.  Want to talk about relativism versus absolutism?  Go ahead, but disagree with me that meth is evil and I’ll dispense with debate all together and call you and idiot.  This is pure evil.  What does the word evil mean?  For many it brings a sense of a deep wrongness, a corrupting element, a destroyer of good.  Whatever definition of evil one wishes to use, meth fits that definition. 

I’ve talked with my mom, who lives in Southern Arkansas, about meth.  She’s informed me that it has taken many in the area.  It breaks my heart.  With as few community resources as there are available in that area of the country, I’ve told her that perhaps the local churches could get together and work to fight the spread of this evil.  If a church (regardless if whether it is Christian, Jewish, Wiccan, Muslim) is to nurture the growth of one’s soul, should they not also fight the most dangerous evils to that soul?

I think of pagans and how we generally say that all sides, light and dark, are of the gods.  Indeed, one of the Eight-Fold Path is heightened awareness with drugs.  Though the drugs usually listed are peyote, marijuana, etc… I wonder what the pagan community would think of meth.  The topic hasn’t come up in any discussions I’ve had with pagans.  There are dark traditions that work in the darker aspects of the gods in order to better understand one’s self, yet for the most part pagans are adamant about their pursuing the good, and using the power for the benefit of all.  Perhaps we should become more outspoken against meth and drug use.

   So now to Starbucks.  I love Starbucks and I buy stock every month through Sharebuilder.com.  I buy Starbucks coffee every week or so and I routinely visit the coffee shop across the street.  There is a co-worker who tells me that Starbucks is evil.  She is a liberal hippy type and I don’t begrudge her opinion.  It seems to be simple hatred against a capitalist icon.  She has that right, though I’d point out just how good Starbucks is on many fronts, compared to some of the local coffee shops.

But to my point.  Coffee is a drug.  We get addicted to coffee biologically and psychologically.  Heavy coffee drinkers need a shot of coffee before their neuroprocesses get to a normal state.  People who drink coffee regularly often complain of headaches when they first stop drinking.  Myself, I am  not addicted to coffee.  I routinely go days without any. 

Yet psychologically I need it.  Why?  It is part of a morning routine where I look at news, the paper, drink my coffee, and begin to frame my day in my mind.  It is part of a meditation, so to speak, and if I do not give myself this “me” time, I get cranky.  Perhaps it is an introvert thing, who knows.  But I find that coffee is a part of any scene that I have in my mind where I do some heavy reading in philosophy or journaling.  It seems odd to me to think of reading Kant or Hume with a glass of coca-cola.  But throw in an Americano (espresso and hot water mixed) and it seems more real to me. 

So for me it isn’t a cognitive addiction, but a life style addiction.

   And now to gasoline.  Alternative fuels damnit!  Lets get the technology going so that we will have fuel cells, or electro cars, or whatever in our vehicles so that we will not have as much dependancy on Middle Eastern Oil.  We do that, we can tell them (whatever backwards nation that is selling us oil while being jerks) to go jump off of a cliff.

Oil is an addiction, a lifestyle addiction.  Just like in the Starbucks portion above, I cannot think of going fishing with a boat, using a bicycle or a toyota hybrid.  I drive an S.U.V., (Ford Explorer) and it brings problems with my entry.  I am fueling (pun) the forces that perpetuate my addiction. 

There are those that would tell us to get out of our SUVs and ride bikes.  I rode a bike for nearly two years.  It has it’s wonderful moments to be sure, but for a lot of times it really sucks!  I’ve been blown off the road by wind gusts, wet and muddy, hit by two cars, nearly killed several times, and the amount of things that I can go do or be a part of is severely limited.  I am able to go fishing now in places that I never would have before.  Good luck going camping on Mt Hood on a bicycle. 

Then there is the hippy mini-van that is prolific in Oregon.  They are everywhere.  They get worse gas mileage than my Explorer does and the emissions… forget about it. 

So what is there to do?  Keep the pressure on elected officials to support alternative fuel research.  I’ve heard reports of a hybrid SUV coming out  (if not out already) and I can only hope that eventually these will be economically feasible.  Some of us are not quite that rich, nor have that great of a credit history that allows us to go buy a new car (I’m working on it). 

Leave a Reply

