Thoughts before work

Yesterday I ended up having the day off.  I went fishing.  No luck.  I came home and soon found myself in a deep emotional funk.  This was a malaise, a discontent, a disatisfaction that went deep to chill my bones.  I wanted to read, but couldn’t.  I wanted to write my novel, but couldn’t.  I wanted to hike, but couldn’t. 

It is the New Moon.  I didn’t realize it until late last night.  I could have done a New Moon ritual to mark the negative time, to aid in healing and becoming who I want to be.  But I couldn’t.  I was too indifferent, cranky, and uncaring.

A good night’s sleep and I am feeling fine. 

I watch the G8 protests on the t.v. and I feel my sympathies for both sides.  I watch and smile at the President’s delivery of speech, his mannerisms are sometimes humorous to me, but I agree with him on the topic of aid to countries in Africa.  As to the Global Warming issue, I am all for the higher gas prices.  Yes, it sucks, yes I drive an SUV and I hate having to fill it up as much as I do and I has kept me out of the mountains a few times because of gas prices, but it has also gotten me up 4WD roads that a car can’t go up as well.  Sales of SUVs have dropped and there is more demand for hybrid cars.  Here is where Adam Smith’s invisible hand comes in, market demand and private enterprise will yeild much greater results and greater diversity of application in the field of alternative fuel than any government program ever can. 

A friend of mine who is travelling the world and keeps a blog wrote an entry lately that got my attention (they all do actually) about the duality of energy in the universe. 

Picking up a copy of “The Wiccan Warrior” I randomly open it to a page, it comes to chapter 12, “To Dare”.

The most beautiful emotion we can experience is the mystical.  It is the power of all true art and science.  He to whom this emotion is a stranger, who can no longer wonder and stand rapt in awe, is as good as dead.  To know that what is impenetrable to us really exists, manifesting itself as the highest wisdom and the most radiant beauty, which our dull faculties can comprehend only in their most primitive forms– this knowledge, this feeling, is at the center of true religousness.  In this sense, and in this sense only, I belong to the rank of devoutly religious men.

~ Albert Einstein

Two Warrior Precepts in this chapter are “Who Dares Wins” and “The Gods cannot help those who will not help themselves“.

Some failures:

Babe Ruth struck out 1,330 times- the world’s record- but also hit 713 home runs.
Ludwig van Beethoven’s violin teacher called him hopeless as a composer.
Leo Tolstoy flunked out of college.

An absolute can only be given in an intuition, while all the rest has to do with analysis.  We call intuition here the sympathy by which one is transported into the interior of an object in order to coincide with what there is unique and consequently inexpressible in it.  Analysis, on the contrary, is the operation which reduces the object to the elements already known.

~ Henry Bergson, “Introduction to Metaphysics”

It is almost time for me to go to work.  I leave in an hour. 

Leave a Reply

