Morning thoughts

My appointment to have my stitches removed was this morning at 08:30.  I had already removed them myself and this was just a formality I had to go to satisify the workman’s comp claim.  The drive there was nice.  It had come a thunderstorm last night after midnight.  I had stayed up late, till 2:00 am, reading book one of Harry Potter.  I had never read any of them and opted to stay away from children books… but hey… I have a small collection of fairy tales and such… and so when the world went nuts over Harry Potter a few days ago, I bought book one.

I LOVE IT!

It is one of the best books I’ve read in a long time.  The world is so believable (I know, it is children’s tale) and rich, the characters are archetypes in themselves… it is just so much fun.  I cannot wait to read the rest.  

I stopped by the Nature Park and took a quick stroll while the morning was still grey.  It would have been nice to have some coffee, but the pub I stopped at to get some sold Folger’s… no thanks.

My workout was great this morning.  It was legs day and I really felt it in the calves.  I did several sets of crunches later on while watching the Yoga class do their poses.  I would have liked to join them, but it was too late by the time I realized they were going.

Breakfast was crepes with blueberry, raspberry, strawberry, and blackberry.  Mmmmmm. 

Oh Joy!  My drum came in the mail.  I ordered a drum on Ebay, seeing the drum just twenty minutes before end of bidding.  I is a short little drum, about a foot high and 8 inches wide or so.  It has a deeper sound to it than its looks might suggest.  The wood is gorgeous and there is a nice artwork design of a lizard or something.  It was made by some guy in Hawaii.  When I opened the box it had newspaper from Honolulu and I felt an odd twinge of homesickness for Hawaii, having lived there for three years. 

I’m glad to see the Patriot Act clearing the House.  We are tougher and have more tools for law enforcement to use against child molesters than we are on terrorist organizations in this country, until the Patriot Act.  I don’t get the name though… why not call it the Anti-terrorism act or something. 

Leave a Reply

